Queensland Dominate Country Titles

January 16 2024

Queensland are the undisputed kings of Australian Country Cricket after the Brahmans and Brolgas dominated the national titles held in Newcastle last week. The remarkable feat is the first time Queensland has won the double.

The Brolgas were particularly impressive, going through the entire tournament undefeated. Emma Jackson, Mikaylah Wrigley and Ruby Strange all scored 50’s in the group stage and the bowling and fielding was a standout from the entire Brolgas unit. Tarah Staines had incredible figures of 3 for 5 in four overs against Western Australia. Grace Abdy had 2 for 4 in the same game while Staines was again dominant against Victoria taking 4 for 12 in her four overs.

The Brolgas finished top of the table by a considerable margin and played ACT in the semi-final. Bowling first, the Brolgas set themselves up for another dominant win by restricting the ACT to 8/93 with Jaimie-Lee Strang taking 3 for 16. They chased the total comfortably in the 16th over to book a spot in the final against Victoria.

The final was a spirited affair with the Victorian Country girls having nothing to lose. They came out swinging and got away to a very competitive total of 5 for 151 in their 20 overs. This was the most runs any team had scored against Queensland Country in the tournament and only the second time the Brolgas has conceded more than 100 runs. Tarah Staines was the pick of the Brolgas bowlers with her economical figures of 1 for 11 in four overs.

The run chase began shakily when Brolgas captain, Ruby Strange was trapped LBW to make it 3 for 32 in the sixth over. Taylor Stumer (61 from 44) came out and steadied the ship for the Brolgas with Mikayla Wrigley (46 from 41) who put on a 97 run partnership. When they both lost their wicket in the 18th over there was still plenty of work to do but Felicity Koch and Tarah Staines kept their heads and saw the girls to the win in 19.2 overs.

A proud day for all Queenslanders

The Brahmans had a slightly different path to their Australian Country Cricket Championship victory. They last won the title back in 2017 in Wollongong and were hungry to end their drought. It wasn’t looking likely when they lost two of their first three games and had key injuries to key all-rounder, Joe McGahan and bowler, Travis Busch.

When South Australia won a thriller in round six, scoring two on the last ball to inflict Queensland Country their fourth defeat from the opening six games it seemed a long way back for the Brahmans to claim an unlikely tournament win. However, big wins over New South Wales and Western Australia put the Brahmans back in the frame heading into the final round.

Queensland needed to beat the ACT and have New South Wales beat Victoria comfortably to sneak ahead on net-run-rate and claim an emotional Championship win and that is exactly what happened. Cairns all-rounder, Jake Roach was man of the match in the last round with his 5 for 29 and 35 runs.

The Brahmans were overjoyed to claim the Australian Country Championship

North Queensland batsman Sam Lowry made the Australian Country Cricket side as captain along with Far North opening bat, Matty Wilkins, South East Queensland wicket-keeper Claye Beams and Central Queensland off-spinner Logan Whitfield.

Australian Country Cricket Championships men’s merit team.

For the girls, Mikayla Wrigley (Sunshine Coast) was recognised for her outstanding tournament, awarded the batter, wicket-keeper and player of the tournament. Wrigley was honoured as the captain of Australian Country side which also included Tarah Staines (Wide Bay) who claimed the bowler of the tournament honour. Jaimie-Lee Strang (Darling Downs SWQ) and Grace Abdy (North Queensland) were recognised for their outstanding bowling with selection in the Australian Country side too.

Australian Country Cricket Championships Women’s merit team.

The Bulls Masters are incredibly proud of all the men and women who represented Queensland and helped to secure this historic victory.

The Brahmans and Brolgas will aim to defend their national titles at the 2025 Championship which will be held in the Barossa Valley.

Share this article:

Stay in the Loop

Enter your details to join our mailing list for updates, events, promotions and more.

    Join Us

    It is our members and corporate partners that assist Bulls Masters in continuing our work throughout Queensland communities. If you would like to become part of the Bulls Masters, we want to hear from you.

    Our Partners