Teams Announced For The Country Challenge

The best open-aged cricketers from around Regional Queensland will head to Mackay again this October 19-21 for the Bulls Masters T20 Country Challenge. The event has been running since 2011 and has become the premier T20 event for regional cricketers in the state with the two finalist getting the extra prize of playing the decider on The Gabba in a curtain raiser to a Brisbane Heat BBL game.

The foundation that the Bulls Masters has created for the tournament is the base for its success. Teams from all eight regional zones have their flights, uniforms and hotel accommodation funded by the Bulls Masters. This allows the best players in Regional Queensland to make themselves available for their respective areas and strive to get their teams into the final and play on the ground that is usually reserved for Test and First-Class cricket.

“We’re really proud to be able to offer regional Queensland cricketers this opportunity”, said Bulls Masters Managing Director, Jimmy Maher.

“There are so many quality cricket players in Regional Queensland that could have played at a higher level, whether that be Brisbane Premier, or even state or national level, but they decided to stay in the Bush. The Country Challenge gives them an opportunity to showcase their talents on a big stage.” , Maher added.

All teams will be mentored through the event by a former Queensland cricket legends.

The Mackay/Whitsunday Nitros will be aiming for back to back titles after they beat the Far North Queensland Fusion for the title last year.

This year's teams are;


1. Chris Gillam (Christopher)
2 Tully Willson (u21)
3 Nick Brown (Nicholas) (u18)
4 Jack Carter
5 Cam Brimblecombe (Cameron)
6 Kris Glass (c)
7 Chris Hall (Christopher)
8 Luke Neale (u21)
9 Dan Anderson (Daniel)
10 Shaun McCarthy
11 Kieren Gibbs
12 Dane Hutchinson

Coach : Kent Reimers
Manager : Tony Anderson (Anthony)
Scorer : Gaylene Anderson


Aaron Harmsworth (Captain) - Rockhampton 
Joe McGahan (Vice Captain) - Rockhampton 
Jason Seng - Gladstone 
Mark O’Keeffe - Rockhampton 
Anthony Eden - Rockhampton 
Cameron Keene - Central Highlands 
Todd Harmsworth - Rockhampton 
Justin Peacock - Rockhampton
Ben Milne - Rockhampton 
Joe Pratt - Central Highlands 
Brent Hartley - Rockhampton 
Logan Whitfield - Rockhampton 

Jason Wells - Coach 
Brock Seigert - Manager


Michael Salerno
Dan Parnell
Tom Lever
Paul Nasser
Chris Stanger
Jake Roach
Brenton Edwards
Angus Warnock
Wade Matthews
Blake Raper
Tom Boorman
Dan Freebody
Wade Frazer (Coach)
Steve Kerwitz (Manager)


Jack Baird - Helensvale
Steven Baker - Broadbeach-Robina
Simon Belston - Southport Labrador
Shane Connors - Alberton - Ormeau
Sean Fitzsimmons - Broadbeach-Robina
Joshua Kelly - Alberton - Ormeau
Ben O’Connell - Broadbeach-Robina
James Spargo - Queens
Harrison Winton - Queens
Jackson Winton - Queens
Sam Winton - Queens
Matthew Yiend - Alberton - Ormeau

Greg Little - Coach
Darren Santer - Assistant Coach
Peter Goodchap - Manager


Mitchell English (c)
Joel Bruun
Jason Butterworth
Todd Dixon
Jakob Frerichs
Peter Shepherd
Mason Kohler
Lane Kohler
Brenton Polzin
Peter Blaik
Jack Sambell
#12 to be confirmed

Coach: Troy Newton
Manager: Russell English


1. Mark Taviani ( C)
2. Sam Collingwood
3. Shaun Curnow
4. Bradley Stout
5. Dan Kearney
6. Herbie Heuir
7. Justin Dixon
8. Reece Danaher
9. Bradley Radford
10. Jack Raffles
11. Josh De Munari
12. Zackary Holm

Coach – David Todd
Manager- Shane Turner


Adam O’Sullivan (Co-Captain)
Luke Barrett (Co-Captain)
Matt Guest
Geoff Klease
David Tyler
Michael Ridgewell
Michael Topp
Troy Cooper
Matt Tiviani
Arif Mansuri
Ben Swinn
Damien Brandley

Craig Jesberg (Coach)
Justin Miller (Manager)


1. S Brady 
2. A Batten 
3. B Mitchell 
4. J Vidler 
5. L Owen 
6. D Krebs 
7. S Stuchbery 
8. B Schultz 
9. K Leggett 
10. Z Dann 
11. Ryan Norton 
12. A Sippel 
Coach: Joe Laffey 
Manager: Troy Ignatenko 
Umpire: Trevor Drury

Share this article:

Country Challenge


Thu 06 Dec 2018

Central Queensland Seamers are confident that former captain, Aaron Harmsworth will be recovered from injury in time for the Bulls Masters Country...

Read More


Sun 21 Oct 2018

The Mackay/Whitsundays Nitros will gun for back to back Bulls Masters Country Challenge titles when they take on the Central Queensland Seamers in...

Read More

Teams Announced For The Country Challenge

Tue 02 Oct 2018

We're less than two weeks out from the 2018 Country Challenge held in Mackay and the teams set to battle for Queensland supremacy are officially in!

Read More

Bulls Masters Country Challenge 2017

Wed 11 Oct 2017

The Far North Fusion will take on the Mackay/Whitsunday Nitros in the 2017 Final once again ....

Read More

Far North Fusion claims Bulls Masters T20 Country...

Fri 30 Dec 2016

Far North Fusion has claimed the Bulls Masters T20 Country Challenge, running down the Mackay Whitsunday Nitros in an exciting final at the Gabba...

Read More