Bulls Masters Country Challenge Championship Sept 30 – Oct 2

September 22 2022

The top teams in Regional Queensland face off in Cairns to determine who has bragging rights as the “Bush’s Best”.

The Bulls Masters Country Challenge comprises Eight regions outside of Metropolitan Queensland. Those teams are South East Queensland Stormers, Wide Bay Flames, Darling Downs Suns, Mackay/Whitsundays Nitros, Central Queensland Seamers, North Queensland Monsoons and the Far North Fusion. This year the eighth team will be the Country Queensland under 21’s side who replace Gold Coast.

The tournament will be played in Cairns at Griffith Park and Cazaly Stadium starting on Friday the 30th of September.

The Country Challenge will run with two pools. Pool A includes North Queensland Monsoons, QC Colts XI, Mackay/Whitsundays Nitros and SEQ Stormers. Pool B includes Far North Fusion, Wide Bay Flames, Central Queensland and Darling Downs Suns.

Each team will play the other sides in their pool once for a total of three pool games. The teams in first and second in their pool will then play a semi-final to decide who plays the decider at the Gabba in January.

At this stage, the final will be held on January 11th before the Brisbane Heat and Perth Scorchers Big Bash League game.

Previous winners are:

2012 – South East QLD Stormers

2013 – Gold Coast Thunder

2014 – North Queensland Monsoons

2015 – Far North Fusion

2016 – Mackay/Whitsundays Nitros

2017 – Central Queensland Seamers

2018 – North Queensland Monsoons

2019 – Gold Coast Thunder

2020 – Final canceled due to Covid-19 (Darling Downs v NQ)

2021 – North Queensland Monsoons

Share this article:

Stay in the Loop

Enter your details to join our mailing list for updates, events, promotions and more.

    Join Us

    It is our members and corporate partners that assist Bulls Masters in continuing our work throughout Queensland communities. If you would like to become part of the Bulls Masters, we want to hear from you.

    Our Partners